What to gift your less favourite folks


Buying gifts always needs creativity and enthusiasm especially if it is for  someone you aren’t quite fond of… That makes the whole process more painful.

Recently, I read something that I thought could be a perfect gift for someone I don’t like! The book is none other than Revolution 2020 by India’s most loved author (unfortunately that’s true) Chetan Bhagat. I had quite enjoyed Bhagat’s first book five point someone and read the subsequent books (Three Mistakes of my life, Two states) and dint quite like them. But it is the first time that I couldn’t get myself to complete a Chetan Bhagat book. Revolution 2020 was absolute torture! I tried pushing myself through it but after about 130pages I decided it was time to throw in the towel. Nothing I have ever read has been more dull, dragging, boring and absolutely painful. 

Coming to think of it, Chetan Bhagat is more a one book wonder. After that first book his books had the ring of a third class bollywood movie. I can’t get myself to even gather my thoughts on the book because I just dont have the guts to think through those 130 pages again. And that’s when I decided that this is something I will gift people I am not too fond of. Let them enjoy Mr Ex-IIT-IIM’s torture!

I was thinking to myself if I was being too harsh on having such negative thoughts on the book and thats when I realized that I was not alone in despising Chetan Bhagat. I thoroughly enjoyed a statement which called Chetan Bhagat the Karan Johar of the publishing insudtry! 😀 Couldn’t help but laugh out loud!

Final Verdict: 0.5/5

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “What to gift your less favourite folks”

  1. Kam says :

    hahaha… 😀 I wonder, you posted a fact here.

  2. jaishvats says :

    Hi ,
    I just finished reading The 3 mistakes of my life and 2 states. The latter was quite okay for me, in fact I liked it.(May be because I am South Indian and I was interested in his observation about the lot). The former was a little torture agreed. Yet to read your worst gift suggestion 😀

  3. Harsha B (@CriticLeo) says :

    Heheh! Loved the title. 🙂 Whenever I browse through Flipkart, I see his books among the bestsellers, but somehow I never felt like buying his work. Now I’m totally glad I was right.

  4. nabadip says :

    the thing with FPS was that it was on a thing that happened to him..thus he didn’t need to make up much..
    The moment he started doing that from his second book,things went terribly wrong.
    And he, i guess,is now more of a bolly scriptwriter then a storyteller!

Leave a Reply

Playwright Conversations

Black Playwrights, Black Artists, Black Plays

Walk The Line

Guided by Karma, Dharma and Drama!

The Write Might

Keeping it real and raw.

The Write Side

A little bit of this and a little bit of that!

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

Books, j'adore

story lovers unite

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Scriddles

scribble doodle sketch

madamecroquette

Just another WordPress.com site

FROM THE WILDERNESS

Veritas Vos Liberabit

Freedom to Fail

An aspiring young professional with a blog

Bytes won't bite ...

Networks | OS | Games | Fun | 11111000011

